Sometimes, during those dreadful, sleepless nights, I lay flat on my bed, reminiscing about the past. Many times, I think about how many things would have been different if I had acted more appropriately. Like the time I screamed at my beloved parents, or the time I betrayed my best friend Sammy. Like a shadow, this memory with Sammy has always followed me around, never failing to leave a bitter taste in my mouth.

“I’m going now, see you!” Sammy said, a smile lighting up her face. She waved her hands frantically, unable to contain her excitement as she prepared to leave for her vacation to sunny Hawaii.

“Goodbye Sammy! See you in 6 days, I’ll remember to feed Mel!” I replied assuringly as the door slammed shut. Just saying the word ‘Mel’ send a cold shudder down my spine. Mel was Sammy’s precious cat and I hated cats. I had always been terrified of those feline monstrosities ever since a street cat left a nasty gash on my left cheek two years ago. Since then, I vowed never to come close to another cat, let alone take care of one! But Sammy needed a favor, and I could not just leave her like that…

The thought of being alone with Mel made my smile disappear almost instantaneously. Terror grappled my heart as my mind came together in a mush. I did not know what to do.

“Mel…?” I whimpered, unable to control the fear lingering on my voice. Mel had the tendency to disappear without trace for hours at a time before magically reappearing again. Her piercing blue eyes seemed to be everywhere. Every second, every minute, it was like she was watching me. I had always felt like something was very off about her, but never dared to bring it up to Sammy.

I gave up looking for Mel and decided to take a nap. As I wandered drowsily into the room, there it was. The black monstrosity was lying on my bed, its effulgent blue eyes seemingly gleaming in the dark. Instantly, I snapped out of my trance, taken aback by the creepy sight of the cat. Muttering silent curses under my breath, I left the room. My mind was spinning like a whirlpool, when an idea flashed through my head. I felt the idea rapidly manifest itself as my face slowly twisted into a wicked smile. I was not going to live in trepidation and fear, all because of a lowly cat.

For the next few days, I lived well. The cat was no longer a hindrance nor nuisance, as I had stopped feeding it. I lived without fear of being watched, without fear of being scared and without fear of being scratched. All this time, Mel was nowhere to be seen. It was like she had vanished off the face of the Earth. Deep inside, I knew I was making a grave mistake. But my fear had got the best of me, and I knew it was not going to stop me then.

However, when I returned from school the next day, I noticed that the door was slightly ajar. Panic coursed through my every vein as I inched closer to the narrow opening of the door. Realization dawned upon me as I made out the figure moving about. It was Sammy, and she had returned from her trip a day early,

Without thinking twice, I entered the house and hastily greeted Sammy. To my horror, she glared at me and held up Mel’s lifeless, dead body. I stared back, my mouth agape in shock. It was only then I had realized what I had done.

“Did… you… do this?” Sammy questioned, her bloodshot eyes still fixated on me. Tears were welling up in her eyes, and she took a menacing step forward.

“No, I didn’t-“

“How could you?” Sammy burst with rage, suddenly charging towards me like a bull. She punched me in my stomach and I tumbled clumsily onto the ground, unable to comprehend what had just happened.

“Please…Sammy… Stop…” I begged, looking up at the gigantic figure towering over me, the heat radiating stronger than a thousand infernos burning in hell. Around me, the world spun. I crumpled in excruciating pain, the impact from Sammy’s blow making me dizzy.

“That was my precious Mel, you cannibal!” she shrieked back, her voice seething with rage, as she landed a tight slap on my face.

“Now, out of my house!” she whimpered, tears beginning to cascade down her cheeks. My face stung as I stood up and quietly exited the house. Just before I closed the door, I heard Sammy bawling in the living room, no longer able to contain her grief.

“Why…Why did you have to do this… You were my best friend… I trusted you…” her voice fading off as I closed the door behind me.

A mixture of feelings overcame me as I treaded home. Guilt. Anger. Sadness. An agonizing feeling surged through me and I could not help but start tearing up, my mind a clutter. I reproached myself for what I had done. I had deserved to be slapped by Sammy. I did not deserve her trust, or this friendship. I had to make it up to her.

Over the course of the following week, I called Sammy every day, only to get hung up on. Even in school, Sammy avoided me like the plague, pretending like I was invisible.

I was devastated. I knew that this was the end of our friendship, but I also knew that I deserved this treatment. Thinking back, I wish I had handled matters in a more mature manner… Maybe then, this friendship could have been salvaged.

For enquiries about our quality English lessons or writing services, please contact The Useful English Tutor at 9747-0937.

 

Leave a comment