Gloomy grey clouds hung low from the sky, as though it was a visual representation of how I felt. Today was my birthday, but no one had remembered it. Even my mother, who would usually peck me on the cheek at 12am sharp and pass me a present, had continued with her hectic “work-from-home” schedule. That morning, I had woken up to an empty house. I found out from a haphazardly written letter my mother had placed on the dining table that both my parents had something urgent to tend to that morning, and that I would have to make my own way to school. In school, my classmates did not wish me happy birthday, and I was even held back by my math teacher, who had reprimanded me for my indecent grades. Needless to say, today had been a horrible day.

I heaved a sigh and turned my house keys into the lock, expecting to open the door to an empty house. My mother had mentioned in her letter that she and my dad would be gone for the day. As I stepped into the house, the initial darkness burst into a cacophony of cheers and shouts. “Happy birthday!” my friends and family exclaimed as they jumped out of their hiding spots from under the table and behind the couch. The lights flickered on and party poppers exploded in my face. Then, the living room erupted into a myriad of colours. Shocked by all the sudden activity in my house, I gave a short start of surprise. I had expected to return to a cold and vacant house, yet the living room was bustling with activity. As I was looking around, gratitude for my friends and family filled my heart. Just as I thought about how the day had taken a 180-degree turn and could not get any better, I felt a soft pelt of fur brush against my ankle. I looked down and saw a pair of striking cold blue eyes gazing at me innocently. As I picked up the cat and started stroking its golden fur, my mother walked over.

“I know that you have always wanted a pet cat, and your father and I have both decided that you are old enough to care for one responsibly,” my mother explained as she affectionately patted me on my back. My eyes sparkled as I thanked my mother profusely. I could not believe that this gorgeous feline was mine to keep!

For the first few days after I got my pet cat Mia, I showered her with my undivided attention. I was constantly feeding her treats and playing with her. However, my ‘O’ level examinations were approaching and I had to study for them. As the days elapsed, I found my attention towards Mia dwindling. Her constant mews and rubs against my ankle were returned with half hearted “hmms” or total even silence.

About two weeks later, Mia was due for her first vet check. As she was a newborn, it was mandatory for her to go for a fortnightly vet check. Unsuspecting, I waited patiently for her vet to finish the check up. Twenty minutes later, the vet called me over. With a spring in my step, I headed over. However, the vet’s serious expression made a shiver run down my spine. “Are you Mia’s owner?” he asked me. Apprehensively, I nodded my head slowly. “Is anything wrong?” I questioned, perturbed. 

Gravely, he told me that Mia had seemed to be suffering some discomfort, and that her weight was less than a typical newborn’s weight. “We would need to run a few tests to diagnose her illness,” he added.

After a short while and much worrying, the vet came out of the room and beckoned me forward. “It looks as though there is a piece of thread caught in her stomach, which has been making it hard for her to eat. She would need a surgery to remove the string,” the vet advised.

My heart skipped a beat as my blood ran cold. I felt as though my legs would give way any second. Breathing raggedly, I wondered, how could I have been so oblivious to the pain that Mia has been going through?

After overcoming the initial shock, I realised that I had to act fast in order to save my beloved pet cat. With trembling hands, I called my mother. “Mum! Come quick! Mia has to undergo an operation as soon as possible!” I commanded.

My mother scooted to the hospital. Her cheeks were flushed red, but I was unsure if it was due to the haste or fury of my negligence. “Leah! Is Mia okay? What exactly happened? Where is she now?” my mother asked me. 

I hung my head low and sheepishly admitted that I had been neglecting her needs in order to prepare for the upcoming ‘O’ levels, and that Mia had been rushed into the operating theatre a little before she had arrived. 

My mother stared straight at me intensely. Although no words were said, the disappointment I could sense shooting out of her eyes like daggers pierced me sharply. Instantaneous shame shot through my entire body. I bowed my head low, unable to meet my mother’s eyes. I felt as though my knees would fail to support me and give way any second. As I turned my body away, my breath hitched in my throat. Heat travelled up to my cheeks and my face started tingling with shame. How could I have been so irresponsible? I thought with self-loath and disgust. If only I could turn back time, I would have paid extra attention to Mia and her needs.

A few hours later, the doors to the operating theatre opened. After what had seemed like an eternity, the operation was finally over! The doctor announced that although the operation had gone well, there was a high chance of complications arising due to Mia’s malnutrition for the past few days.

After an intense battle that had lasted a few days, Mia succumbed to her condition. On the day of her funeral, as I stood in front of her carcass, an indescribable feeling of heaviness and dullness weighed down on my chest. My stomach felt tight and knotted, and I found it extremely difficult to fill my lungs completely. I pinched the bridge of my nose and squeezed my eyes shut, wishing – not for the first time – that I had taken good care of Mia. As I stared at Mia’s unmoving and cold body one last time, I realised that looking after a pet was a huge responsibility and no easy feat. One should only commit to having a pet if he or she is ready for it.

For enquiries about our English tuition classes or writing services, please contact The Useful English Tutor at 9747-0937.

Leave a comment