As my relatives and friends streamed into the large function room, they carried a large megawatt smile on their faces. I felt like a king that day. Presents flowed in like water from a tap. While waiting for all the guests to arrive, the early birds were served refreshing drinks while chatting. Rousing songs and pulsating energy created an electric atmosphere in the room. After all the guests had arrived, I found the presents being piled up as tall as myself. This is an annual scene of celebration where my relatives, family and friends show their love and affection towards me.

As the party carried on, the guests were entertained by magic performances and interactive multiplayer games such as uno, monopoly and charades. Time flew by where one hour felt like a minute. Awed by the large variety of food. I pranced around the room, catching up with my relatives and friends while indulging in the sumptuous food. This is an annual celebration that never fails to make me feel at home.

It was finally time to cut the cake. Clapping their hands, everyone started singing a birthday song for me. The cutting of cake signified that I was one year older, which meant I should be more sensible and mature. Since it was an ice cream cake, there was dry ice in the box and I decided to do something different. I placed the dry ice in a large bowl and covered it with a magazine. When everyone said to blow the candle, I removed the magazine and poured the “special“ air on the candle. Everyone cheered in excitement and some even asked how this was done. I told them that the “special” air was actually carbon dioxide. After eating the cake, we continued playing uno, monopoly and charades. The significance of using dry ice instead of blowing the candles out demonstrated my keen interest in science.

After much merriment and laughter, it was time to create mementoes. We gathered to take a group photo. It would be a precious reminder of the strong and intimate friendships and family relationships I had forged over the years.

My yearly birthday party is not only an enjoyable event for me, but it also evokes in me a profound sense of belonging to my family and an intense feeling of gratitude towards my nurturing parents who never fail to provide for my every need and want.

For enquiries about our quality English lessons or writing services, please contact The Useful English Tutor at 9747-0937.

 

Leave a comment