Having attended rigorous training since primary one, I was chosen to represent the competition team. For most of the inter-school competitions, I will take part in the individual and team categories. Early this year, however, I was only assigned to join the team category. My team members included Genie, Nancy and me. We practised our steps vigorously every lesson. Training after training, we prayed hard that we would do well. Three months might be insufficient in most eyes, but to me, those three months were packed with routine exercises that drove us to total exhaustion.

A few weeks before the big event, we were informed by our instructors that there were only two competitors. Instantly, we leapt as high as elated cicadas in the mist of spring.

On the day of the competition, we carried our rock-like heavy bags, all dressed in white tops and khaki bottoms to Toa Payoh Sports Hall. Our bags contained the pale white taekwondo uniforms, dull-looking red-black belt and mountain-like worksheets to occupy ourselves before the commencement of the competition. As soon as we arrived at the Toa Payoh Sports Hall, pleasant thoughts of dreamy lustre flooded my mind. “How wonderful would it be if the gold, shiny trophy was ours?” I thought as I walked towards the waiting area that was as silent as a graveyard to join my team mates from St. Mark’s Primary School.

We, as a team of 3, went outside occasionally to practise. We had to do our pattern simultaneously like identical triplets. As we checked the amount of time left, we began to feel intermitted blasts of nervousness entering our stomachs.

“Junior red-black team division, please report to the registration table now!” a loud voice boomed across the hall. We dashed at lightning speed and soon, we arrived at the registration area. Two strong teams, Springland Primary School and Northsea Primary School, lay before our glassy eyes. We were silenced by while and unwelcome thoughts, which raced through our minds like a whirlwind. We predicted that we could only get third, but no matter what, we would try our level best.

In the end, we lost. Feeling miserable, we waited for our bronze medal. “Sorry…I guess they are not giving any third prize for this category…” my coach whispered to us. Disappointment flooded our minds as we stopped fidgeting our bottoms. I seethed with silent rage after receiving the detestable news. I could feel every atom in my body tingling with intense indignation. I walked out of the sports hall, releasing a war of cry of significant of my reluctance to forgo our hard work.

Everything that we hoped for would come true, if only we had worked harder. Even though we left the competition without a prize, we knew we had put our best foot forward and emerged with much stronger bonds with one another.

For enquiries about our quality English lessons or writing services, please contact The Useful English Tutor at 9747-0937.

 

 

 

Leave a comment