“Hey Jayden! What did you get for your examinations?” Bob, my friend, asked.

At that moment, I remembered the day I cheated for my Mathematics examination…

“Class, tomorrow is the day of the mathematics examination! I hope that you are all prepared!” Ms Chua, our mathematics teacher, exclaimed in her signature shrill voice. It was then I realised that I did not study for my examination due to my intense addiction to the popular online game, Fortnite.

Ring! The school bell chimed. The students packed their bags and ran off like a cheetah. I knew it was too late for me to revise the whole syllabus again. Hundreds and thousands of “what ifs” were plastered all over my mind. I felt edgy and unsettled.

When I reached home, a wonderful idea suddenly struck my mind! I decided to cheat! I thought to myself, “ If I get full marks for my mathematics test, my mother will definitely buy me some virtual currencies in Fortnite which I could show off!”

I quickly took a piece of paper and copied down all the equations to solve various kinds of questions on many different small strips of paper. I could finally top my class! Excitement was written all over my face. I had to find where I could keep the thin pieces of paper so that I would not get caught. I ran as fast as I could and asked my mother,” Could you get buy me some virtual currencies in Fortnite if I scored full marks for my mathematics examination?” My mother nodded her head in silent consent.

When it was time for dinner, I was so hungry that Iwolfed down all the food on my plate until there was not even a single grain of rice left.Then I dashed back into my bedroom and resumed playing Fortnite! “Jayden! Time for bed!” my mother screamed her lungs out for my attention and little did I know that I was already playing for eight hours!

Briskly, I went to take a bath and tucked myself in bed.

The day to prove my capability finally arrived. I slipped the pieces of paper into a tiny compartment in my pencil case.

“You may start your mathematics examination now. Good Luck!” Ms Chua announced.

Once Ms Chua’s back was facing me, I took the slips of paper out and started copying furiously. Even though we had an hour and a half, I scrambled to finish the examination as if I was anxiously fighting the behemoth on Fortnite to secure victory.

“Class! Time is up!” Ms Chua stopped the timer as she collected the mathematics booklet.

After all papers were collected, I saw one of my classmate, Georgina, wiping teardrops off with the back of her right hand. I asked her,” Are you okay, Georgina?”

She forced a wide smile and replied,” I am fine! Really!”

As I awkwardly turned away from Georgina, I felt a strong wave of shame inundate me. I regretted cheating. “Have I sold my integrity for the virtual currencies?” I questioned my soul repeatedly.

I tossed and turned in my bed for the umpteenth time. “Should I admit or not?” Those words kept on playing in my mind like a broken record.

Ultimately, I decided not to admit my wrongdoing!

The next day was Children’s Day so I did not have to attend school.. As usual, I was glued to the screen killing the hideous monsters attacking my heroic character in Fortnite. At noon,, my mother’s phone rang. After she answered the call, her face lit up with joy and forcefully pulled me off my seat, wrapped her arms around me till I nearly suffocated and exclaimed,”You did it, my sweet love !Full marks for your mathematics examination! I will buy you the virtual currencies now!”

Without a second of hesitation,I scooted off to take my laptop and showed my mother the total cost of the currencies. She fetched her credit card and keyed in her number. She bought it!

At dinner time, my mother received another call from Ms Chua, but it was for a dreadful reason. With a deep grave voice, Ms Chua requested for my parents to visit the principal’s office the next day. It sounded like a serious matter. Engrossed in my online adventure, I did not pay any heed to the sinister undertones of the message.

Early in the morning the next day, Ms Chua broke the unexpected news in the principal’s office. She found out that I was cheating from the surveillance camera installed in school. Knowing that it would not be possible to cover up the deception, I confessed my wrongdoing. Fortunately, I was let off with a stern verbal warning from my principal and parents.

As a form of punishment, my beloved computer was confiscated for three months. Upon deeper introspection, I learnt that honesty is the best policy. I should not have cheated during the examination and should have come clean with my teacher right from the beginning. The three months of Fortnite ban made me realise aplenty, and I for one, discovered that studying can be actually as fun as playing Fortnite, but even more meaningful and enriching for young minds.

For enquiries about our quality English lessons or writing services, please contact The Useful English Tutor at 9747-0937.

Leave a comment